Two-Tier Panchayati Raj System

Union Minister for Rural Development & Panchayati Raj Dr. C. P. Joshi today informed the Lok Sabha that two tiers Panchayati Raj system is in existence inthe States/UTs of Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu, Goa, Lakshadweep, Manipur, Puducherry and Sikkim. As per Article 243 (M) of the Constitution, States of Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Sixth Schedule Areas and hill areas of Manipur are exempted from application of Part-IX of the Constitution. J&K has its own Panchayati Raj Act. Elections are yet to be held to Panchayats in J&K as well as the State of Jharkhand.

In reply to a written question whether the Government is committed to implement uniform Panchayati Raj System in the country including tribal, hilly, backward/North Eastern areas Dr. Joshi said where Part IX of the Constitution applies, States are required to constitute Panchayats at Village, Intermediate and District levels, except the States having a population of less than 20 l akhs, which may not constitute a Panchayat at Intermediate level.

As Panchayat is a State subject, complaints including those relating to mis-utilization of funds are forwarded to the respective States for appropriate action at their level, the minister added.

(Release ID :64390)